Founded in 1848, The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world’s largest federation of scientific and engineering societies, with nearly 300 affiliates.  In addition, AAAS counts nearly 140,000 scientists, engineers, science educators, policymakers, and interested citizens among its individual members, making it the largest general scientific organization in the world.
The continuing objectives of AAAS are to:

  • Further the work of scientists:
  • Facilitate cooperation among them
  • Foster scientific freedom and responsibility
  • Improve the effectiveness of science in the promotion of human welfare:
  • Advance education in science: and
  • Increase the public understanding and appreciation of the methods of science in human progress.

Attainment of these objectives involves both national and international activities.

The Caribbean Division was founded in Mayagüez, Puerto Rico in 1985 and our first president was Dr. Juan Bonnet. Here is a list of our past presidents:

1987 – 1989 Herminio Lugo
1989 – 1991 George Hillyer
1991 – 1993 Sergio Silva
1994 – 1996 Nuris Rodríguez
1996 – 1998 Ricardo González
1999 – 2001 Braulio Jimenez
2001 – 2003 Mark Miller
2003 – 2005 José Rodríguez-Orengo
2005 – 2007 Armando Rodríguez-Durán
2007 – 2009 Margarita Irizarry
2009-2012 Jorge Colón
2012-present Abel Baerga-Ortiz


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: